(San Francisco, CA, March 28, 2013)—The National Center for Lesbian Rights (NCLR) is proud to announce that it will honor several heroes in the movement for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender equality at its 2013 Anniversary Celebration—which marks its 36th year—on May 18, 2013 at San Francisco’s City View at Metreon.

“This event is such an emotional evening—providing us with an opportunity to celebrate our successes and to pause for a moment to recognize all the brave individuals who challenge injustice and reshape the legal landscape for every member of our diverse community,” said NCLR Executive Director Kate Kendell. “They are the heart and soul of our movement, and true role models for millions of people across the country.”

The Awards 

Courage Award: LGBTQ DREAMers

The Courage Award honors individuals who have shown courage and perseverance in the face of great injustice, and whose bravery has been a model for all lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people. LGBTQ DREAMers—young women and men who came to America as children and know only this country as their home—have been at the forefront of the fight for comprehensive immigration reform. This year, we celebrate the victories they have achieved, including President Obama’s new program for Deferred Action. As NCLR continues to work to bring humanity and decency to our nation’s immigration policy, we couldn’t be prouder to be working alongside the LGBTQ DREAMers.

Justice Award: Jennifer Tobits

The Justice Award honors an individual who has shown the courage and perseverance to fight for justice and sacrificed to make broad social change for the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community. This year’s award goes to Jennifer Tobits, whose fight to have her marriage to her late wife Sarah Ellyn Farley recognized in her home state of Illinois is a story of love and perseverance in the face of injustice.

Founder’s Award: Shannon Price Minter, Esq.

The Founder’s Award acknowledges a person whose life embodies NCLR’s vision and values of equality and justice and who has demonstrated a lifelong commitment to activism on behalf of our communities. This year’s Founder’s Award will honor NCLR Legal Director Shannon Price Minter’s 20 years at NCLR. His advocacy, litigation, leadership, and lifelong commitment to equality and justice continue to make meaningful and lasting change for LGBTQ people and their families.

Founded in 1977, NCLR is devoted to advancing LGBTQ equality through litigation, legislation, policy, and public education. Since its start, NCLR—which helps more than 5,000 people each year—has embraced every aspect of the diverse LGBTQ community through its work, recognizing that LGBTQ people and their families come from many different backgrounds and face a wide range of issues.

The Anniversary Celebration —NCLR’s annual signature event—attracts a sell-out crowd of 1,500 people from across the country to celebrate victories in the movement for full LGBTQ equality, and to honor those who have become role models through their unfailing commitment to justice.

Tickets are now available for the event, which begins at 8 p.m., with the well-known political humorist Kate Clinton returning for a command performance as emcee.

The Premiere Sponsor of the Anniversary Celebration is Wells Fargo. The Gold Sponsor is American Airlines.

Learn more about the 2013 Anniversary Celebration and buy tickets.